About Water Resources

Located on the campus of Mississippi State University, the Institute administers and coordinates research programs dealing with water and related resources. (It is one of the state institutes authorized by Section 104 of The Water Resources Research Act of 1984). Its activities are developed in close consultation and collaboration between the Institute and leading water resources officials within the State.

The purpose of the program is to provide a coordinated research and development program that contributes to the solution of water and water-related land use problems in Mississippi, the region, and the nation.

The Institute's Goals

  • To provide a center of expertise in water and associated land-use problems and serve as a repository of knowledge for use in education, research, planning, and community service
  • To serve public and private interests in the conservation, development, and use of water resources
  • To provide training opportunities in higher education whereby skilled professionals become available to serve government and private sector alike
  • To assist planning and regulatory bodies at the local, state, regional, and federal levels
  • To communicate research findings to potential users in a form that encourages quick comprehension and direct application to a water-related problem
  • To assist state agencies in the development and maintenance of a state water management plan

Advisory Board

Permanent Members

  • Dr. Pat Deliman, Technical Director
    Environmental Laboratory
  • Mr. Mike Freiman, Director
    Surface Water Division
    Office of Pollution Control
    Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
  • Mr. Frank Howell, Executive Director
    Delta Council
  • Nick Ivy, Executive Director
    Mississippi Soil & Water Conservation Commission
  • Mr. Dane Maxwell, Commissioner
    Mississippi Public Service Commission
  • Dr. Matt Moore
    National Sedimentation Laboratory
    Water Quality & Ecology Research Unit
  • Mr. Kurt Readus, State Conservationist
    USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
  • Mr. Richard Rebich, Director
    USGS Lower Mississippi-Gulf Water Science Center
    U.S. Geological Survey
  • Mr. Thomas W. Richardson, Deputy Director
    Center for Excellence, Analysis and Response for Coastal Hazards
    Jackson State University
  • Dr. LaDon Swann, Director
    Mississippi-Alabama Sea Grant Consortium
  • Ms. Kay Whittington, Director
    Office of Land and Water Resources
    MS Department of Environmental Quality
  • Dr. Kristine L. Willett, Professor & Chair
    University of Mississippi Department of BioMolecular Sciences
    Environmental Toxicology Research Program

At-Large Members

  • Dr. Don Christy, Executive Director
    Yazoo Mississippi Delta Joint Water Management District
  • Dr. Chism Craig, Vice President, Research & Development
    Local Seed Co.
    Owner/3C Agronomy
  • Dr. Darrin Dodds, Head
    Mississippi State University
    Department of Plant & Soil Sciences
  • Dr. Bobby Golden, Technical Manager (Eastern U.S.)
    Simplot Grower Solutions - Innvictis
  • Mr. Lester Herrington, Director
    Office of Environmental Health
    Mississippi State Department of Health
  • Mr. Kirby Mayfield, CEO
    Mississippi Rural Water Association
  • Mr. Bill Moody, Director
    Mississippi Department of Health
    Bureau of Water Supply
  • Dr. Jami Nettles, Manager, Southern Environmental Research
    Weyerhaeuser Company
  • James I. Palmer, Attorney at Law
  • Mr. John Sigman, General Manager
    Pearl River Valley Water Supply District
  • Dr. Tripp Walker, Agronomic Service Representative
  • Mr. Andy Whittington, Environmental Coordinator
    Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation

Contact Us

Mailing Address

Box 9547
Mississippi State, MS 39762

Physical Address

2745 West Line Road
Scales Building
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: 662.325.3295